United States versus China


Gold-Medal Match: United States - China

This will be the seventh meeting between China and United States at the world championships.
United States won the first three meetings (1956, 1978 and 1982). China won the last three meetings (1986, 1990 and 2006).
United States have won both their previous meeting with AVC countries at the 2014 World Championship, beating Kazakhstan and Thailand both 3-0.
China have won their last 13 world championship meetings against NORCECA countries, since losing the 1998 final 3-0 against Cuba.
United States and China also met in each of the last five Olympic Games, with USA winning the last two matches (2008 and 2012).
The only 1-2 final in which they have previously met in a major tournament was at the Los Angeles 1984 Olympic Games, with China winning 3-0.
Both countries have lost two matches at the 2014 World Championship. The winner will become the second nation to win the gold medal after losing twice following Italy in 2002.

United States
United States can become world champions for the first time.
United States qualified for the final for the second time at the world championships. In 2002, they lost 3-2 against Italy.
United States will finish in the top-2 for the third time as the tournament in 1967 had only a round robin.
United States have won two silver and two bronze medals at the world championships and can become the third nation to complete the medal set following Russia/Soviet Union and Japan.
If United States claim silver, they will extend the record of most medals won without winning gold.

China can become world champion for the third time following their world titles in 1982 (beating Peru in the final) and 1986 (beating Cuba). Only Russia/Soviet Union have more than three world titles (7). Japan and Cuba have won the world championship three times.
China have also reached the final in 1990 (losing against Soviet Union) and 1998 (losing against Cuba)
China are in the 1-2 final for a record fifth time at the world championships. Cuba have played a 1-2 final four times (world championship have 1-2 finals since 1978).
China can equal Russia/Soviet Union and Cuba in winning a 1-2 final three times (since 1978).
China can also equal Brazil in losing three 1-2 finals (since 1978).


All the News