Women's World Championship first round calendar available for download


Lausanne, Switzerland, May 28, 2014 – Following the unveiling of the first round
calendar of the FIVB Volleyball Women’s World Championship Italy 2014 on Tuesday,
a dynamic calendar is now available for d

Italy will host the women’s World Championship for
the first time ever from September 23 to October 12. As one of volleyball’s
strongest and proudest nations, the best of women’s volleyball will have a
wonderful stage to perform on, especially after an outstanding standard was set
during the FIVB Volleyball Men’s World Championship in 2010.

A total of six cities - Rome, Trieste, Verona,
Bari, Modena, and Milan - will host the FIVB’s premier tournament for women
with Milan set to host the finals of the tournament.  

A record number of 279 teams participated in the
qualification process for the 2014 FIVB Volleyball World Championships. This
total, coming from 166 national federations across the five FIVB
confederations, represents an increase of 65 teams from the previous best of
214 teams from 119 federations for the 2010 World Championships (compared with
102 in 2006, 72 in 2002 and 63 in 1998).

There were 127 teams that have played in the
qualification process for the Women’s World Championship.

Russia won their second straight FIVB Volleyball Women’s World Championship
title in Japan in 2010 after beating Brazil in the final. Japan completed the
podium after beating USA in the bronze medal match.

Russia are the most successful nation in the
history of the World Championship having won a total of seven titles with their
predecessors – the Soviet Union. Cuba (WR 21) and Japan (WR 3) have both triumphed
on three occasions, China (WR 5) twice, and World Championship hosts Italy (WR
4) once (2002).

Click here
for the first round match schedule of the FIVB Volleyball Women's World Championship Italy 2014.


All the News